The unbearable daily heat was finally broken last night. I could see the cold rain sizzle as it hit the scorching roads – the winds of change have arrived. As the steam rose like smoke from a fire, I was reminded of how the new year has brought with it, its own deliberate gust, as the winds of change have entered my life too.

As the confusion and anxiety surround me, I find myself clutching for dear life. I cannot believe how much my life is going to change this year. Ironically enough, the chaos is keeping me firmly grounded because for the first time, my life feels like it will be completely dictated by me.

There is an unexplainable freedom in adulting and whether I succeed or fail dismally, it’s all on me, and that gives me an incredible sense of empowerment. Honestly speaking, I’m exactly where I want to be. I have an amazing internship waiting for a me, a to-die-for apartment and everything is truly falling into place.

Through it all, my doubts about whether I’ll be great at my job still linger in the background. Like, am I actually talented? Am I good enough? Or, will the luck and finesse that got me here, finally run out and expose me? I don’t know.

What I do know, is that 2018 has an energy to it that excites me. I’m so happy to start this new chapter of my life and finally begin to unravel the layers that make me me. My path towards self discovery is beginning to feel real again and that makes me feel indescribably fulfilled.

So, slowly but suddenly, the vicious winds have begun to turn into a slight breeze, a refreshing and comforting one. The breeze feels like a gentle whisper, telling me that I’m going to be okay. I know I’m going to be okay.

Happy new year!

2 thoughts on “The Winds of Change

Leave a comment